Traveling is Hard Work

Well the last few days have been hard. We were traveling from my mom’s house back home. Liz and I went by train. Bob, Maggie, Kat, and Elly went by car. All of us found it difficult in our own ways. Liz and I may have had the best travel since we went by luxury train, but it took 2 days. Bob and the girls took the farting lively dog home via car, but it only took 10-12 hours. 8-9 hours of driving, we don’t ask what the speeds were. And then Maggie had the joy of coming down to the train station after midnight to get Liz and I after the long drive home.

To top it off, we all have been feeling a bit under the weather. Bob actually went to the doctor after getting home to find he had the flue, but was on the mend. Note: the current flue circulating through California ends in a nasty rash. So if your sick for a few days and then get a rash, don’t panic; your actually on the mend. But back to the story; after a couple days of travel (hard but fun), I came home and did not sleep well. Sophia the cat was demanding. She wanted attention from me. Sophia is the model for the dragon cat and I am her hoard. Therefore it’s not surprising she did not leave me alone. The end result is I went to bed at 1 am. Saw the clock at 2:13 am, 3:26 am, 4:05 am, 4:56 am, 5:23 am, 6:05 am. Got up to let the dog out for a potty break at 6:48 am, and then went to back to sleep. Only to be woken up a little while latter by Bob who was making noises. Have to admit I was a grouch, so he did not really tell me about his rash (flue induced). I did not realize how bad it was until close to 9 am when he showed me his back before going to the doctore.

This means that yesterday I was in a travel hang over. Tired, grouchy, aching, and not able to do much. My biggest accomplishment yesterday was watching DVD’s for the Princess Diaries and Princess Diaries II. These are great movies, Anne Hathaway was wonderful in the role of Mia Thermopolis. Probably my favorite comfort movies. To amuse myself during the second movie, I started writing down good quotes from the movies. They are listed below. Enjoy. Many of the lines could be usefully employed during the right conversations in our daily lives.

I don’t want to be a princess.

A queen is never late, everyone else is simply early.

Oh I don’t speak greek and you obviously don’t speak english.

I got a hello and a goodbye, is this an american custom.

The shoes are a little bit big anyway, the swelling should help them fit better.

Question: May I blow in your ear?
Answer: Can you reach it?

How do you turn off the curtsies?

Comment: Shut Up.
Response: I beg your pardon?

Question: How can parilment expect me to fall in love in 30 days?
Question: What kind of person agrees to an arranged marriage?
Answer: I dream of love, not fondness.

Courage is not the absence of fear, but rather the judgement that something else is more important than fear.

Yes, but that is cheating.

How brave, most interns don’t want to even fetch my tea. (upon being told that an intern would take a bullet for the queen).

Its not a difficult job, you just have to open the door before the passenger dies of old age.

As your queen, I absolutely cannot condon it; as your grandma, I say right on.

Nepotism belongs in the arts, not plumbing.

Comment: By the way, I’m getting married.
Answer: To whom?
Response: I don’t know.

Question: Do you ever take those shades off?
Answer: No.

Comment by Robine to Sofia: Your getting moved cat, life is harsh. (Said to the cat sophie as she gets taken off my lap during a potty break).

Perhaps its time to consider your duty to yourself.

Comment 1: Oh, oh it’s a chicken.
Comment 2: We have a chicken situation in the throne room.
Comment 3: Mia, a princess never chases a chicken.
Newspaper Headline: Chicken a’la Queen.

I like all these men wearing helmets

No wonder she’s so clumsy, she’s got a wooden leg.
Talk about getting off on the wrong foot.
(upon a disastrous review of the troops).

So for the once, can you please let me be miserable by myself.

Comment: Sir, you will find the word fear is not in my vocabulary.
Response: Yes, but it is in your eyes.

Question: Do I want to know?
Answer: No

Question: She’s going to be a handful isn’t she?
Answer: You’ll never be bored.

Why do you talk like that? What if we all talked like that?

Question: Would you like to be a princess today?
Answer: I can’t, I”m too little.
Response: Oh no, I declare anyone can be a princess today.

Question: Can I be in the parade?
Answer: Yes, we can always use more prince’s in the world.

To be a princess, you have to believe you can be a princess; you got to walk the way you think a princess should walk so think tall; you got to smile and wave like a princess; and just have fun. Just remember you are a princess.

What, you want to poke a hole in it and have something squirt all over? Background noise from my kids (all adult and perhaps including my husband) during the movie.

Comment: I look like a moose.
Answer: Yes, but a very cute moose, all the boy moose go waaaaa
Response: I have antlers?

This is a disaster in the making, I wouldn’t miss a moment of it.

Whatever choice you make, let it be as a woman.

Sit, sit, there may be a dinner.

And from the extras:
The difficult thing about story telling is how much do you tell, how much do you need?

Author: Heres to ART not Cockroaches

Welcome to my life. My life as a mom is changing as the kids grow up, leave home, and build their own lives. This gives me a chance to rebuild myself as an artist, develop a spiritual path, and most fun of all, start going out on dates with my husband. Come here the stories about the small things in life that can make one very happy. Dogs running on a beach, great breakfast dates, kids and their adventures, and my own adventures in this wacky life. I'll share some of my progress in learning art while juggling a full time job as an engineer. And best of all, it's a chance for me to practice writing stories while keeping in touch with my kids. I look forward to hearing from you. Comments, thoughts, and invitations to meet for coffee are all welcomed. Enjoy the stories.

Leave a Reply

