Doggy Tales and Jigsaw Puzzles on New Years Day

Its a gorgeous day here on the farm, a good start to the new year. Took a walk with the two dogs — our brown bullet Elly and my folks dog Sadie. They both love running around on the ice. Elly tried walking on a frozen puddle in the middle of the road and look surprised when she cracked the ice, falling into water. Sadie walks more sedately like the lady she is, avoiding the puddles. When we got back to my folks house, my dad was waiting with a towel, letting Sadie in and keeping Elly out. We’ve all learned, Elly comes back an icy muddy mess.

Here’s a picture of Sadie. She’s a labradoodle who has given my folks many years of joy.

20130101-094824.jpg

Anyhow to explain the next picture, you need to know this dog Sadie loves balls. She always has a ball in her mouth and over the years has stashed hundreds of balls throughout my parents property. Everywhere you go, she follows and finds a ball. Ugly disgusting things in many cases, she pulls them out from bushes along the road and under piles of wood near the barn. Once at my folks house she started bringing me balls to throw. I didn’t want to play so instead put the ball in the center of the table outside. There was a pile of over 20 balls before she stopped bringing me balls. Once we cleaned the little cabin and pulled out an entire bucket full of balls. And when my folks were rebuilding their house, Sadie would torture the workmen, especially Mike, by bringing them balls. He would throw the balls down the hill, hide them in the rafters of the barn, and even poured concrete on a ball. He claimed to be bothered by the dog, but when he got called up for military service, one of Sadie’s balls was included with his gear.

Ok, so knowing how Sadie likes balls helps explain this next photo. My dad and Liz were hard at work on a jigsaw puzzle. This was Sadie’s attempt to help. I love Liz’s expression.

20130101-095516.jpg

And here’s another photo of Liz doing the puzzle. I’m including it because of the lighting. This one is a keeper and probably worth printing and framing. I”ll play with it later.

20130101-095707.jpg

Actually got to watch some of the rose parade; the first time in years since we don’t have TV at home. Four resolutions for this year. One, I want to get outside more. Two, I need to move more at work. Three, I need to eat when hungry and only when hungry. And four, I want to spend more time with family and friends with less obsession on technology. So that means that I really need to do that long promised walk on the beach with my friend Marianne.

Happy New Years to everyone. May all have a great year.

Author: Heres to ART not Cockroaches

Welcome to my life. My life as a mom is changing as the kids grow up, leave home, and build their own lives. This gives me a chance to rebuild myself as an artist, develop a spiritual path, and most fun of all, start going out on dates with my husband. Come here the stories about the small things in life that can make one very happy. Dogs running on a beach, great breakfast dates, kids and their adventures, and my own adventures in this wacky life. I'll share some of my progress in learning art while juggling a full time job as an engineer. And best of all, it's a chance for me to practice writing stories while keeping in touch with my kids. I look forward to hearing from you. Comments, thoughts, and invitations to meet for coffee are all welcomed. Enjoy the stories.

Leave a Reply

