What does New Years Eve Mean?

Does anyone else feel like the official new years eve is a made up holiday. Why is January first the beginning of a year, what does it mark? I’ve always thought that the school season marks a change in our social lives; the solstices mark obvious changes in the physical world; and birthdays mark a year of our lives. But new years eve is a holiday that causes much anticipation and great letdowns. Maybe that is the effect of too many parties over the year that should have ended at 10 pm; but went to midnight because they had too.

This year is going to be quiet for most of us. My folks, myself, and perhaps Bob will go wine tasting today. Liz gets to be the tipsy taxi driver. Kate will probably stay home and watch TV as she’s been doing for the last couple of days. Or she’ll help her sister with the tipsy taxi. OF course, she has a good excuse since she came down with an awful cold–drugging her with cold medicines was being kind. But after an afternoon carousing on the towns of Grass Valley and Nevada City; we’ll come home, have dinner, and go to bed by 9 pm.

Tomorrow we get to watch the rose parade and then Kate and Liz get to go shopping with the grandparents. Wednesday we all leave. Now you might have noticed that Maggie has not been included in any of these plans. Well that’s because after messing with my blog (yesterday’s entry) she abandoned us. Her friend Josh came up Friday night, spent a couple of days with us and then took her down to San Francisco for a wild new years eve event. We suspected that something might be afoot when the night before we left for Nevada City, Maggie was trying on all sorts of skanky and wonderfully wild outfits. And then she was worrying about matching jewelry. Don’t know quite what is planned, but mention was made of multiple people coming into town for the evening, bar hopping, and other interesting tidbits of things young folks in their 20’s could do.

But we all had fun with Maggie and Josh before they disappeared. On Saturday Bob, Liz, Mags, Josh, and myself went up to soda springs. Bob, Mags, and Josh went sliding on inner tubes in the snow; Liz and I were smarter and went to the cafe for pizza. It was delicious. We had ham, artichokes, sausage, and pepperoni on the pizza. The marinated artichokes were wonderful, Liz and I greedily ate an entire pizza and then ordered a second pizza. The others arrived just as it arrived and they were able to eat it all in seconds. After that we came back to my folks house for a roast beef dinner were Elle disgraced herself.

I sliced up the remainder of the christmas roast and put it on a plate. Brought it over to my folks cabin and set it on the counter. Turned around for one second and Elly leaped up onto the counter and started grabbing as much as she could eat. It was disgusting, huge slabs of meat were dripping from her mouth. Others yelled, I grabbed the dog and yanked the meat out of her mouth. put most of it, including the stuff on the floor into a pile on the counter. The girls put the dog into isolation — a small room where she can’t get into trouble. And then we rearranged the meat to look nice, heated it briefly in the microwave and told everyone it was time for dinner. Now there were options besides the roast beef, but that had been the main course so most people were going to eat it. After all, we are hungry. There were different strategies for deciding what to eat–Bob went for the smaller pieces on the theory they would have gone down the dogs gullet while Maggie claimed the bottom of the plate was the safest. There is still a bit left in the fridge, no one wants to eat it; so the dog will get a good dinner tonight.

It’s time for breakfast; I’m ready for some more coffee. So we’ll have to continue the adventures of Elly later. She’s been having a wonderful time running in the woods, learning to jump into ice filled streams, and the like. Have some great pictures from LIz’s camera; these will get posted after we get home. In the meantime, here are a few of the beautiful shots of ice covering stuff in the morning.

20121231-095234.jpg

20121231-095254.jpg

20121231-095314.jpg

20121231-095356.jpg

20121231-095407.jpg

20121231-095442.jpg

Author: Heres to ART not Cockroaches

Welcome to my life. My life as a mom is changing as the kids grow up, leave home, and build their own lives. This gives me a chance to rebuild myself as an artist, develop a spiritual path, and most fun of all, start going out on dates with my husband. Come here the stories about the small things in life that can make one very happy. Dogs running on a beach, great breakfast dates, kids and their adventures, and my own adventures in this wacky life. I'll share some of my progress in learning art while juggling a full time job as an engineer. And best of all, it's a chance for me to practice writing stories while keeping in touch with my kids. I look forward to hearing from you. Comments, thoughts, and invitations to meet for coffee are all welcomed. Enjoy the stories.

2 thoughts on “What does New Years Eve Mean?”

  1. I love your stories, Robine, and the adventures you and your family and doggie are having. I agree about the new year’s party thing. I declined invitations #1, I too got a cold, but mostly #2, I prefer to be quiet, in contemplation, by myself with my own thoughts, reflective. I plan on walking the labyrinth at Unity church in Vista today and tomorrow just to get some fresh air and sunshine. Yesterday, I spent about eight hours on the couch “recuperating”. I did get to see two great movies, Searching for a friend for the end of the world” (LOVED it)…great love story….prepare to shed tears… and the second “Chimpanzee”, again loved it, wonderful story and cinematography. If you’re in the mood for a nice family evening of movies, I recommend them hghly. Looking forward to seeing you soon. Hope we can all get together and share some stories and laughter.

    Many, many blessings to you all. Your friend, Marianne

Leave a Reply

