Solstice Celebrations — Dec 21 was a great day.

My winter solstice celebrations were fantastic and very inspiring. There were two separate celebrations for the solstice, which occurred at the same time in the Alta Vista Gardens to honor this event.  I arrived in time to participate in a drum circle while watching the most amazing sunset.  Actually saw all the different colors — red, orange, yellow, green, blue, indigo, and violet.  The drums were pounding as the colors streamed through the trees.  I had never participated in a drum circle before, but the pounding of the drum did add to the special feelings of that evening.

Later in the evening, Penny led a small but heartfelt ceremony to honor the solstice.  A half moon shone through the clouds to create a circle around it.  This is something rare, I don’t think I remember seeing such a good circle ever in my life. Since I had been partying with the drums, food, and music crowd, I had not seen how Penny had set up the labyrinth with strings of solar lights.  Words to describe I felt walking  into that sacred space is that it was beautiful beyond words..  Most of the party crowd did walk the labyrinth, but they were unaware our small group giving thanks for this peace and beauty.  Loud music, food, and crowds meant many of them missed a good event.  Later in the evening, we picked up the solar lights creating boxes of lights.  And Mary was kind enough to share the story of how Raven releases the Sun with me.

It could not have been a better celebration of Winter Solstice for me.  The days are getting longer and we can look forward to the New Year.  Perhaps someday I’ll figure out how to paint a moonscape and can do one of the moon circle over the labyrinth with all those small lights, but right now that’s beyond my skill level. So instead, I’m sharing this mixed media picture of the sunset on Friday as my gift of thanks to everyone who made the celebration worthwhile.

Photo Dec 23, 11 31 07 AM

Author: Heres to ART not Cockroaches

Welcome to my life. My life as a mom is changing as the kids grow up, leave home, and build their own lives. This gives me a chance to rebuild myself as an artist, develop a spiritual path, and most fun of all, start going out on dates with my husband. Come here the stories about the small things in life that can make one very happy. Dogs running on a beach, great breakfast dates, kids and their adventures, and my own adventures in this wacky life. I'll share some of my progress in learning art while juggling a full time job as an engineer. And best of all, it's a chance for me to practice writing stories while keeping in touch with my kids. I look forward to hearing from you. Comments, thoughts, and invitations to meet for coffee are all welcomed. Enjoy the stories.

3 thoughts on “Solstice Celebrations — Dec 21 was a great day.”

  1. What beautiful sentiments from a beautiful lady! So sorry I missed the evening. Your description is so uplifting. Thank you. Did you do the mixed media picture? Best wishes for peace, joy,hope and prosperity, Robine, to you and all your family.

  2. I am so tickled that Marianne forwarded me the link to your blog Robine Lovely sentiments! I enjoyed reading about your experience of the Winter Solstice and Labyrinth event. Thank you for all your help. Penny

Leave a Reply

