A really great day

The last couple of days have been awful. Bad case of food poisoning, something I would not wish on anyone. But it was a good chance to start kickstart a diet and I have been getting the chance to sleep.

In contrast, last weekend was great. On Saturday, Bob and I went down to balboa park. It was great fun. Below are a few pictures from the expedition. We had a great lunch at the Prado, a fancy restaurant in the middle of the park. Got a nice picture of Bob that I would like to turn into a portrait. In the middle of the park were various groups promoting their religious views — the Hare Krishna’s were dancing, the evangelical’s were telling us that we were doomed unless we accepted their view, and the agnostics were telling everyone there is no hell. Thought about having my fortune read with tarot cards, but went to look at the spanish art village instead were I bought Kate some earrings as a birthday present.

Walking back towards the zoo, I made the comment to Bob “Let’s go to the zoo, I don’t want to go home”. There was a little boy about 5 watching us. He excitedly turned to his dad and said “She sounds like me, I don’t want to go home either”. Bob and I did go into the zoo for the last hour and took some great pictures of flowers and a gorgeous peacock. It was so nice, that I’m sharing the pictures with you below.

20121106-101800.jpg

20121106-101820.jpg

20121106-101828.jpg

20121106-101842.jpg

Author: Heres to ART not Cockroaches

Welcome to my life. My life as a mom is changing as the kids grow up, leave home, and build their own lives. This gives me a chance to rebuild myself as an artist, develop a spiritual path, and most fun of all, start going out on dates with my husband. Come here the stories about the small things in life that can make one very happy. Dogs running on a beach, great breakfast dates, kids and their adventures, and my own adventures in this wacky life. I'll share some of my progress in learning art while juggling a full time job as an engineer. And best of all, it's a chance for me to practice writing stories while keeping in touch with my kids. I look forward to hearing from you. Comments, thoughts, and invitations to meet for coffee are all welcomed. Enjoy the stories.

2 thoughts on “A really great day”

  1. Beautiful pictures…thanks for sharing. Hope you are feeling better. Did you eat out somewhere before you got the food poisoning? Nice picture of your Bob. It certainly would make a memorable portrait.

Leave a Reply

