Whine, wine, or walk

I’m tired, overwhelmed, and desperately want to do something besides work. It’s late so even though art homework would be fun and needs to be done, I’ll ignore it. Pack up the undone stuff for class tomorrow night. VIFT awaits and has a huge to-do list of must be done things. Have not yet called the trash, have not put together the list of needed equipment, have not reviewed and signed contracts, and have not put together an agenda for the Wed night meeting. Want to do paper mache sculptures, want to work on lighting and tress, want to read another great book, want to go to the movies. The whining could go on. Wine could be nice, but there is none in the house and I don’t need it. So I guess the solution is to get off my butt; post a picture; and then go to school taking the dog for a walk.  She loves to go; we do laps of the parking lot; and then she gets to see all the kids.

This picture of my girls playing the beach makes me happy. Even as grown young women, they still know how to play. I was thinking about the beach today — have not been there for months, it’s time to go there an walk. Was imagining how beautiful it can be, what an inspirational place to visit.  Especially during winter months in California.  Maybe next weekend. More whining…time to get off even though I enjoy blogging as a creative activity.   Anyway, Bob is calling me with some homemade chocolate cake.

Author: Heres to ART not Cockroaches

Welcome to my life. My life as a mom is changing as the kids grow up, leave home, and build their own lives. This gives me a chance to rebuild myself as an artist, develop a spiritual path, and most fun of all, start going out on dates with my husband. Come here the stories about the small things in life that can make one very happy. Dogs running on a beach, great breakfast dates, kids and their adventures, and my own adventures in this wacky life. I'll share some of my progress in learning art while juggling a full time job as an engineer. And best of all, it's a chance for me to practice writing stories while keeping in touch with my kids. I look forward to hearing from you. Comments, thoughts, and invitations to meet for coffee are all welcomed. Enjoy the stories.

1 thought on “Whine, wine, or walk”

  1. I love your frank honesty about how you are doing today, no sugar-coating. You’ve given me a great idea! How about we go for a walk on the beach some time soon. I love walking, especially at the beach. This Friday my daughter is coming to stay through late Saturday night, but I’m free on Sunday. I have to go to the garden to lock the gate at 5 p.m., but otherwise just have to do mundane chores around the house and garden.

Leave a Reply

