Meteors, Dinner, and dead IPAD’s

It’s been a very busy weekend — did half of what I wanted to do, did some things not on the list, and at almost 9:00 on a Sunday evening am beginning to feel frantic about what has not been done. Homework is a biggy and VIFT paperwork is a second stressor. And did not see a single meteor during this last shower. It rained, so I suppose that is ok although Bob managed to see one earlier in the week without even dedicating a block of time to the activity. Lucky, I guess.

For VIFT, Bob and I went to the Vista Schools Art Festival and handed out 2 for 1 coupons — morning show only. Cribbed that coupon from some work another volunteer needed. And I got Maggie’s laser printer out from storage to hook up with the Mac. Mac’s are so hard to use, I was almost in tears trying to get that printer working. The MAC knows where your files should go, there is no need to worry a pretty head about file paths. Sounds almost like Romney with his letting a woman go home early so she could cook dinner for her kids. Lucky for me, Bob has a cooler head and does not expect to control the computer. With his guidance, we got the laser printer working. And of course the first thing I did was ask it to print 100 copies. Bob about died “Why didn’t you print 20 to begin with and make sure things were working first”. But that’s not me, jump right in, demand everything, and then go into tears when they don’t work right.

So after we got a couple hundred fliers printer, cut them in half to double our count, Bob and I headed down to the festival of Arts, Elle in tow. He totally blew me out of the water–I mean that man is good at handing out fliers. I worked hard to get up enough courage to talk with people.
“Hi I’m with the Vista High Band Boosters, can I give you a coupon for our VIFT tournament” only to have numerous people say “Oh I already got a coupon from a gentleman with the lovely dog.” He’s good at public relations, I stink at public relations.

And Elle had a great time at the Arts festival. There is nothing she likes more than going around in city places seeing people and other dogs. At the end of our flier distribution process, we walked by the beer festival (not suitable for dogs) and went for lunch at curbside cafe. That has to be one of her favorite places of all time. She loves going out for a meal. Gets to lay down and watch life. At the end of a good show, she gets some incredible treats. In the morning, it’s usually a bit of omelet. But for lunch she got tunafish and bacon from a blt.

I’ve learned several things from running VIFT — it’s fun to make decisions. It’s fun to be the center of attention. It’s nice to have the ability to hide in the shadows and watch practices while exhausted. And PR work is not a good career choice for me.

But that does not yet cover all the VIFT work. Didn’t get the equipment list together, did not work on the letters to directors, and did not worry about the missing security people. But I did get a pretty picture together showing what happens when. Big sheet of paper (18 by 24 inches) filled up with lots of notes and a timeline. People will find this interesting and I find it useful for identifying what needs to be done when.

This afternoon (Sunday) I avoided homework and VIFT work by cooking. It’s fun to cook a fancy dinner. Made a great stew, cut lots of vegetables for lunch, and fed the in-laws dinner. They were happy. Not only did we have a great dinner, but there are multiple dinners and lunches prepared in the fridge. Plus, Mary and David (my in-laws) got a huge bag of treats. A little bit of this, a bit of that, and some stew as the final touch. Handed it to David since Mary usually protests. David is well trained, he always accepts food donations from me. And he should, hidden inside that bag were some great treats — blackberries, raspberries, and sliced oranges. Add in spinach, salad, and lots of other delights, both will enjoy their present sack. Mary did mutter something about having to return my plastic containers…probably expecting that if she did, they might get filled again.

Well the IPAD is almost dead. We are at 5% battery life thanks to a kid. She has her own computer, there are power cords, and there are other options for electronic entertainment. But no, running out the battery life from Mom’s IPAD seems to be her favorite activity. And that means I’m going to have to quit this blog now. Otherwise I risk loosing everything. Have a great evening.

Author: Heres to ART not Cockroaches

Welcome to my life. My life as a mom is changing as the kids grow up, leave home, and build their own lives. This gives me a chance to rebuild myself as an artist, develop a spiritual path, and most fun of all, start going out on dates with my husband. Come here the stories about the small things in life that can make one very happy. Dogs running on a beach, great breakfast dates, kids and their adventures, and my own adventures in this wacky life. I'll share some of my progress in learning art while juggling a full time job as an engineer. And best of all, it's a chance for me to practice writing stories while keeping in touch with my kids. I look forward to hearing from you. Comments, thoughts, and invitations to meet for coffee are all welcomed. Enjoy the stories.

Leave a Reply

