Binders full of women and other musings

Did any of you catch the presidential debate earlier this week. There were some amazing comments made during that debate. Now I am biased because Romney and the republican views on controlling women’s lives scares me. I don’t understand how anyone with women in their lives can vote for someone who proclaims they DO NOT support equal pay for equal work, don’t think that family leave law is important, don’t think women can make their own choices on health care, and don’t understand that women do care about lots of things.

There were several outrageous comments including “women in a binder”, letting the woman go home early (at 5 pm instead of 7 pm) to cook dinner for the kids, and that Mitt would grow the economy so much that employers would want to hire women. They wouldn’t have a choice because so many employees were needed. All of these comments are insulting although Bob does not quite understand why.

I remember being questioned by the doctors in the 80’s on why I would need birth control and I remember not being able to get a credit card without a co-signer. I remember the patronizing older engineers who said it is so good to see that a woman can actually do engineering. And the male engineers who would refuse to work with me because I was a female. And I’m a mom who can think of the worst case scenarios. Thank goodness I’ve never had to make those horrible difficult decisions; but it makes me feel good knowing there are options for the worst case.

It’s good that my daughters have so many more opportunities to be scientists than I did. In high school, the counselor actually told me I should not take physics because I was a girl. I desperately wanted to become an astronaut and did not realize that NASA at that time was not allowing women to participate. That came a few years later with Sally Ride and two other women who joined the astronaut corps. Of course I had it great compared to what my mom and her generation were told. For them the only job they should aspire to was MRS degree. They could and should go to college. And they could and should go to work for a few years, but getting married and having kids was the most important thing to do.

So it’s been great to see all the attention given to the “Binders full of women” comment. If you have not seen all the MEME’s on this, do an internet search. For those who don’t know, a MEME is a funny picture posted on a political subject. They are great. One of the best sites is the first one set up (90 seconds after the comment) at:

http://bindersfullofwomen.tumblr.com/

It’s a bit creepy when you think about it. Perhaps I’ll be part of the crowd and go as a binder for halloween; but then I won’t be able to harass people into signing up for VIFT. This year halloween falls on a wednesday night — band practice. Band has a tradition called “trunk or treat”. Competitive car decorations and a full scale party happen in the parking lot after practice. I’ll have a VIFT theme “Got Bathrooms” “Sign Here for YOUR Chores”….scary signs like that. And then I’ll put the clipboard on a well lit bicycle designed to chase down hapless parents who don’t want their chores. Could be funny and will be scary. I’ll post some pictures later.

Author: Heres to ART not Cockroaches

Welcome to my life. My life as a mom is changing as the kids grow up, leave home, and build their own lives. This gives me a chance to rebuild myself as an artist, develop a spiritual path, and most fun of all, start going out on dates with my husband. Come here the stories about the small things in life that can make one very happy. Dogs running on a beach, great breakfast dates, kids and their adventures, and my own adventures in this wacky life. I'll share some of my progress in learning art while juggling a full time job as an engineer. And best of all, it's a chance for me to practice writing stories while keeping in touch with my kids. I look forward to hearing from you. Comments, thoughts, and invitations to meet for coffee are all welcomed. Enjoy the stories.

1 thought on “Binders full of women and other musings”

Leave a Reply

