Man and Dog

Man and Dog–that will be the theme of an upcoming drawing. Not as a class assignment, but because I love the subject matter. Perhaps this picture will make up for the lack of progress on a knitted sweater. Any as part of this picture, I need to collect resources. Resources is a fancy term for pictures and objects that become the models and base of a picture. So I have a couple great photos to start this project.  The first couple of pictures come from local parks.  They provide a great starting point for the drawing where the main subject is a man and his dog in the park.

      

Then we add in some details for the dog and the man; getting colors, shapes, and facial details.  Still need to get some detailed photos of the dog and the man’s face.  Want to capture things like the trip to the park today.  Evidently Elle had a great time although other dogs had to teach her proper manners.  And she was the instigator of big trouble.  When Bob got to the off-leash park with Elle, all the dogs were sniffing around this giant muddy puddle.  Elle went bounding into the middle of it and other dogs followed her example.  Bob professed not to know the dog for a moment or so; but was outed by the dog and other owners.

      

Wait…how did this picture sneak into the group.

Guess the cat’s don’t want to be left out.  Wouldn’t the dog Elle look wonderful with that cat’s coloring.  Cats are on my brain right now, all three of them are going crazy in the living room because of a new infusion of catnip.  They all love it when I put some down on their scratching post.  Its interesting to watch the pecking order arise.  Sally is definitely in charge of catnip.  No one questions it, especially not the other two cats.  She took one look at Emily who quietly snuck off in shame to wait her turn.

 

Author: Heres to ART not Cockroaches

Welcome to my life. My life as a mom is changing as the kids grow up, leave home, and build their own lives. This gives me a chance to rebuild myself as an artist, develop a spiritual path, and most fun of all, start going out on dates with my husband. Come here the stories about the small things in life that can make one very happy. Dogs running on a beach, great breakfast dates, kids and their adventures, and my own adventures in this wacky life. I'll share some of my progress in learning art while juggling a full time job as an engineer. And best of all, it's a chance for me to practice writing stories while keeping in touch with my kids. I look forward to hearing from you. Comments, thoughts, and invitations to meet for coffee are all welcomed. Enjoy the stories.

Leave a Reply

