Fortune Cookies

Three fortune cookies from dinner–can you guess who got what and who should get what? The participants are Bob, Kat, and myself.
You display wonderful traits of charm and courtesy (magic numbers=9, 10, 30,33, 38, 12)
An admirer is too shy to greet you (9, 19, 28, 34, 38, 11)
You never hesitate to tackle the most difficult problems (6, 18,25,29, 15)

I want to hear responses…what we should get versus we got. Answers will be provided at the bottom, but an email listing your choices would be appreciated.

As you might guess, these fortune cookies came as part of dinner. It was one of those days where Bob was not home to cook dinner and of course, I was home later having driven to work. The unusual thing was that I had no art class tonight since my teacher is in Israel and my substitute teacher is in North Carolina. I’m supposed to be doing homework which consists of learning to draw with colored pencils on black paper and learning to do 2 point perspectives. But I’m not. I’m also avoiding VIFT work of which there is a plenty. Even promised a lot of people that I would create the equipment lists for tomorrow’s meeting, but it won’t get done. Think I’m going to ask those volunteers who wants to pull lots of notes together to make said equipment list.

The last couple of days have been slow and everyone has been in bit of a funk. We had Liz come visit unexpectedly last weekend. She and I arranged this trip on Wednesday afternoon with a thursday afternoon flight. The excuse was I needed someone to go to Miramar Airshow with me. The reality is that we had a wonderful time and I’m glad she came. But I could have found someone local who would have come. Anyway, Liz came in on Thursday morning. So I took the day off work. And Bob was surprised at my sluggishness in the morning…I just was not going to work very fast. When he asked who was going with me to miramar (having already turned out the invitation) I said someone he didn’t know from work. It was a lie, but the gaelic triads from my bardic course give three reasons to lie. One to save the live of an innocent person. Second, to preserve harmony between neighbors. And third to protect the secrets of the elders. My excuse falls under the third category–I am an elder and I had a secret.

So anyway I got Liz without any issues from the airport on Thursday morning. We immediatly began the hour drive north to oceanside; putting us at the grandparents house about 11:30 am. Perfect time to invite them to lunch. Liz walked in first, David and Mary were stunned. According to Liz, it took them a minute before they could say anything. Later, Mary asked if I was trying to induce a heart attack. We went to lunch (italian at 2 Brothers from Italy–great food) and had a great time. After that I went to get a needed haircut (2 years since the last one) and Liz stayed with her grandparents. Then she went home to repeat the surprise.

Bob came home and was surprised to see that Elle had been let loose from the kitchen cage (i.e. Elle thinks of the kitchen as a cage since we don’t let her have free reign in the house, shoes are still too attractive a target for chewing she can’t leave them alone). So anyhow, Bob came in and was stunned to see Elizabeth. It did not compute. And then he thought “Oh no, has she quit college”. Later I heard from another VHS band volunteer that said Bob was bubbly and bouncy — so excited to see Liz that he was much different and happier than his usual self. Leslie, the VIFT volunteer coordinator, told me that about midnight on Saturday as we were waiting for kids to be released.

Liz later went out for coffee with her sister on thursday evening. We went to the airshow on Friday. She went to the wild animal park on Saturday afternoon and that was followed by a trip to the band tournament on Saturday afternoon. An exhausting trip; but much enjoyed by all. She went home on Sunday and everything seemed duller afterwards. The good point is this is one of the few times, I’ve been able to surprise Bob. Most of the big surprises in the past, he was told about, figured out, or generally was not surprised. Maggie dragged the hammock out of her room and put it in the hall. Liz dragged the barbaque out of her room and put it in the kitchen. He figured out the tent by shaking it. Kat told him numerous times when really little about surprises. This time, he had no clue and was really surprise (and pleased). That makes me happy, it’s not easy to surprise this man.

Anyway, answers on the quotes…that will have to wait. The IPAD gave me an almost out of battery warning. So this blog post needs to be finished. Have a great evening.

Author: Heres to ART not Cockroaches

Welcome to my life. My life as a mom is changing as the kids grow up, leave home, and build their own lives. This gives me a chance to rebuild myself as an artist, develop a spiritual path, and most fun of all, start going out on dates with my husband. Come here the stories about the small things in life that can make one very happy. Dogs running on a beach, great breakfast dates, kids and their adventures, and my own adventures in this wacky life. I'll share some of my progress in learning art while juggling a full time job as an engineer. And best of all, it's a chance for me to practice writing stories while keeping in touch with my kids. I look forward to hearing from you. Comments, thoughts, and invitations to meet for coffee are all welcomed. Enjoy the stories.

1 thought on “Fortune Cookies”

  1. Puzzle answers: Charm…Bob; admirer….Kat; difficult problems….Robine. What a great blog, so inclusive and informative. You sure got a lot into a few days. No wonder you were feeling sluggish. Hope you have become re-energized (which I guess you have since you wrote this great blog).

Leave a Reply

