Kats Makeup

Today was a work day even though it was Sunday.  Started this morning with a cat spat.  Sally came to visit about 4:30 am.  Woke me up to demand some attention.  She left after a few minutes of petting and I dozed off.  Only for a moment, because Sophie, the dragon cat immediately came to check on things.  I’m her possession and she guards me as fiercely as Smaug the dragon.  Remember the saying from the hobbit (as recollected by mailto:http://en.wikiquote.org/wiki/The_Hobbit)

It does not do to leave a live dragon out of your calculations, if you live near him. Dragons may not have much real use for all their wealth, but they know it to an ounce as a rule, especially after long possession; and Smaug was no exception.

Well Sophie guarded her wealth by starting a cat fight with Sally at 4:30 am.  Snarls, hisses, and other ugly sounds.  The floor shook as the cats rumbled down the hall.  After a bit of yelling was able to finally get back to sleep.

Later got up to Work, work, work.  Don’t want to talk about it tonight; so we’ll cover something fun: Kate’s Makeup.  Kate takes her makeup seriously.  And Pageantry requires specific guidelines on how makeup should be applied for her shows.  A couple Saturdays ago, Kat spent hours working on the makeup.  Here’s what the original eye stuff looks like.

And then she practiced with all the elements – eyes, mouth, nose, cheek, forehead, and other places.

And then there was the final result

Doesn’t she look lovely?

Author: Heres to ART not Cockroaches

Welcome to my life. My life as a mom is changing as the kids grow up, leave home, and build their own lives. This gives me a chance to rebuild myself as an artist, develop a spiritual path, and most fun of all, start going out on dates with my husband. Come here the stories about the small things in life that can make one very happy. Dogs running on a beach, great breakfast dates, kids and their adventures, and my own adventures in this wacky life. I'll share some of my progress in learning art while juggling a full time job as an engineer. And best of all, it's a chance for me to practice writing stories while keeping in touch with my kids. I look forward to hearing from you. Comments, thoughts, and invitations to meet for coffee are all welcomed. Enjoy the stories.

Leave a Reply

