Surreal 2 am event and advice for Maggie

This morning, I awoke at 1:40 am to the sound of snarls, frantic nasty chatters, and lots of brush moving.  Loud scary sounds meant something awful was happening right outside my bedroom window.  Took me a minute to realize that a COYOTE was up in the tree chasing a possum.  Fifteen feet up in the air, this coyote was snarling and lunging to edge of a branch.  The possum who had been eating unripe persimmons was frantically chattering and hissing at the coyote.  Within a minute, the whole event was over, the coyote got the possum and left the tree.  Found only the remnants of a half eaten not quite ripe persimmon on the ground this morning.

See Sally, our cat up the tree.  That was were the coyote got the possum. The coyote was running on those small branches.  Of course, there are a lot leaves right now, so it might not seem quite so scary.  But I would never have imagined that coyotes can climb trees.  Until last night, I had the hope my cats could escape from a coyote by running into a tree.  Guess not.  An internet search does seem to indicate that they can do some climbing if needed.  WOW, what an event.  And because it is almost a full moon we could see the event fairly well.

Bob woke up when poked hard, looked at this event, and then went back to sleep.  The cats, Sophie and Emily watched the events from inside our house windows.  They were a bit disturbed. Sophie in particular spent the next hour patrolling the house and my bedroom very carefully.  Then she got tired and wanted to sleep in my arms.  That’s OK except she is heavy and gets angry when I move too much.

Now Maggie, I have some advice for you.  It seems you might be done with your job early in November and your thinking about going traveling.  That is great.  But remember thanksgiving.  Get your butt home for thanksgiving, we all want to see you.  If you don’t show up, it had better be a really good excuse.  This is your mom talking to you.  Love you.  Hope you had a great time camping this last weekend and got to see some wonderful colored leaves.

Author: Heres to ART not Cockroaches

Welcome to my life. My life as a mom is changing as the kids grow up, leave home, and build their own lives. This gives me a chance to rebuild myself as an artist, develop a spiritual path, and most fun of all, start going out on dates with my husband. Come here the stories about the small things in life that can make one very happy. Dogs running on a beach, great breakfast dates, kids and their adventures, and my own adventures in this wacky life. I'll share some of my progress in learning art while juggling a full time job as an engineer. And best of all, it's a chance for me to practice writing stories while keeping in touch with my kids. I look forward to hearing from you. Comments, thoughts, and invitations to meet for coffee are all welcomed. Enjoy the stories.

Leave a Reply

