Vift Update

So there was another vift meeting tonight and things are starting to fall into place. Am getting people trained on short meetings with action items. People who sent me to-do lists and equipment needs got to go first. And then they got excused to go watch the kids practice — fun stuff.  Asking the following questions:
1. what needs to be done before the tournament
2. what resources do you need?
3. do you need specific resources (carts and radios)? if so when?
4. what volunteers do you need to help you?
5. what do I need to do to help you get the job done?
has an interesting effect. The other leads are taking responsibility for their tasks, identifying needs, and identifying solutions. It’s wonderful.

But best of all I’ve now got a back up. Found the parents of freshman twiins willing to be my assistant. This year they learn. Next year they help me pull the tournament together. And the following year, I’m free to do a cush job as my last year (after 11 years) of being a band parent. So I’ve got two years to define what that cush job will be. An d in the meanitime, I can sleep easier knowing that there is a backup so VIFT wlill go on if something bad happens. That si true freedom.

Author: Heres to ART not Cockroaches

Welcome to my life. My life as a mom is changing as the kids grow up, leave home, and build their own lives. This gives me a chance to rebuild myself as an artist, develop a spiritual path, and most fun of all, start going out on dates with my husband. Come here the stories about the small things in life that can make one very happy. Dogs running on a beach, great breakfast dates, kids and their adventures, and my own adventures in this wacky life. I'll share some of my progress in learning art while juggling a full time job as an engineer. And best of all, it's a chance for me to practice writing stories while keeping in touch with my kids. I look forward to hearing from you. Comments, thoughts, and invitations to meet for coffee are all welcomed. Enjoy the stories.

1 thought on “Vift Update”

  1. Congratulations Robine! You have a very organized mind. Wish I could be more like that, staying focused and clear about a goal and what needs to be done to achieve it. Sounds like you’ve got it. I’m sure it will all go well with you leading the way.

Leave a Reply

