Friendship in my life

Last night Bob, Kat, and I went out for a really fancy dinner at Vintana in Escondido.  Because of restaurant week, we got a 50-60 dollar dinner for 30 dollars.  The food was excellent, the view fantastic, and the glass of wine wonderful.  Our window table on the third floor was positioned to so we could watch the sunset over the hills and the water / light fountain show below.  We had not taken Kat out for a fancy dinner like this in years; if ever.  I was happy to be able to spoil her.

The only bummer was my good friend, Suzie, skipped the meal.  She had set up this evening by making reservations and then tell me we were going.  Ok, Bob and I did have a choice and we decided to include Kat.  I got worried; Suzie had not responded to any phone calls; especially those from Kat asking what to wear.  She did not show up, and she did not answer the phone in the evening.  Being a mom, all I could think of was the worst.  So this morning I drove to work and stopped at her house to check up on Suzie.  Met her neighbor in the house feeding the dogs.  It turns out that Suzie had been sent on a last minute business trip and she had forgotten.  WHEW, I was relieved.  And I’ve since gotten a phone call from her apologizing for scaring me.  But that’s ok, isn’t that what friend are for – checking up on each other when something happens.

One of my bardic lessons talks about friendship and the importance it plays in our lives.  It’s true, friends do bring comfort, stability, and richness to our lives.  I’ve been blessed with many good friends in my life; both past and the possibility of some new ones as well.  It takes time to develop these relationships.  Suzie and I have known each other for almost 20 years; meeting just before my second daughter Liz was born.  My husband has been my friend for over 30 years.  And through him, I met my mother-in-law, Mary, who also has become one of my closest friends.  Those three people have helped me get through many crisis’s over the years. And we’ve had some great adventures as well as just wonderfully pleasant cups of coffee together.  I am glad to have the obligation of stopping and checking on Suzie when she does something out of the ordinary.  My life is richer because of Suzie, Mary, and Bob.

And recently, I’ve become involved with a local gardening / labyrinth group at the Alta Vista Gardens.  There are so many nice people with whom I seem to have a spiritual connection – Marianne, Penny, Lois, Mary, and others.  With all these ladies, I can talk freely.  They accept me as I am and they are fun to be with; over time I hope we become good friends with many adventures together.  Marianne and I are even planning on making a herd of elephants together after I get done with VIFT.  Others may join us on this project, the more the merrier.  Life is exciting and I’m glad.  Thank you to all my friends.

Author: Heres to ART not Cockroaches

Welcome to my life. My life as a mom is changing as the kids grow up, leave home, and build their own lives. This gives me a chance to rebuild myself as an artist, develop a spiritual path, and most fun of all, start going out on dates with my husband. Come here the stories about the small things in life that can make one very happy. Dogs running on a beach, great breakfast dates, kids and their adventures, and my own adventures in this wacky life. I'll share some of my progress in learning art while juggling a full time job as an engineer. And best of all, it's a chance for me to practice writing stories while keeping in touch with my kids. I look forward to hearing from you. Comments, thoughts, and invitations to meet for coffee are all welcomed. Enjoy the stories.

1 thought on “Friendship in my life”

  1. Awww! You really made me smile! You are such a wonderful friend. I knew from the first time I met you that you had a huge, loving soul, and that is what attracted me to you. I hope our friendship will last a lifetime. You can always call on me whenever you need to talk or just want to hang out. I’ll always be here for you. Wouldn’t it be great to make some animals for the garden too? We could really get into this and include more people, like Penny, Lois and Mary.

Leave a Reply

