Buying Books for Art Class

This semester I started working towards getting an AA in art.  Not sure if i want to focus on oil paintings or scuplture.  The glassblowing and bronze casting are really cool to watch–it looks very hard but very rewarding.  And the ability to paint the elaborate detailed pictures in my mind would be great.  But first I need to learn how to draw.  So I’m in the beginning drawing class–the opposite of a ringer.  Most students in there are young, fresh out of high school with several years of art classes.  Me, I stopped drawing when I was 12, but kept on doodling for years.  So I’m working hard to keep up with these students.

This class moves very fast.  First week, how to draw lines.  Second week how to do gray scale shading.  Week 3 was drawing a realistic verson of an object with shading.  I did my birkenstock shoe (pictures at the bottom).  Fourth week is abstract art where we learn to draw with ink geometric and organic designs.  Next week is portraits.   The class is hard where the basic instructions are to do the drawing.  So we will learn to draw portraits from the homework which is to draw 1 disconnected nose, 1 eye, 1 mouth, 1 ear, and some hair.  I know there are tricks to drawing portraits; geometric proportions and the like.  But I don’t think we are going to learn those from this teacher.  She probably learned to draw by looking, not with the tricks.

Years ago I had a great book on how to draw figures.  It was hard, but did show the geometric proportions and broke down the various body parts identifying the common problem areas.  I can’t find that book anymore and so went looking to see whats available.  Unfortunately most of the good used book stores are gone in north county.  It is possible to buy paperback novels, but hard to buy things like art books. Ok, I’ve got a nook and an IPAD, perhaps I can find something to look at there.  The e-books all cost 15.00 dollars plus or minus a bit.  And the samples are not long enough.  You get to look at the table of contents and prefix only. So basically it is buying the books blind.  Went to amazon and found lots of used books for the cost of shipping only.  Ended up ordering 10 books for a grand total of $50.66.  Some probably won’t be good, but chances are really good at least one and probably at least half will be  great.  Better odds than 3 books and I don’t need electricity to use them.  Plus art gets messy — lots of paint and other sticky things can fall onto the book / screen.  So I’m happier with the books.  Only bummer is I have to wait somewhere between 4 and 14 days to get my books.

Now to show off the pictures.  Here’s the picture of my shoe

And here is the picture I drew (got an A- on the picture; the rope was not as good as it should have been)

Author: Heres to ART not Cockroaches

Welcome to my life. My life as a mom is changing as the kids grow up, leave home, and build their own lives. This gives me a chance to rebuild myself as an artist, develop a spiritual path, and most fun of all, start going out on dates with my husband. Come here the stories about the small things in life that can make one very happy. Dogs running on a beach, great breakfast dates, kids and their adventures, and my own adventures in this wacky life. I'll share some of my progress in learning art while juggling a full time job as an engineer. And best of all, it's a chance for me to practice writing stories while keeping in touch with my kids. I look forward to hearing from you. Comments, thoughts, and invitations to meet for coffee are all welcomed. Enjoy the stories.

2 thoughts on “Buying Books for Art Class”

Leave a Reply

