Furby’s, Alban Elfed, Bad Dogs, and Hobbit Breakfasts

Toy’s R Us just announced that one of the hot toys for this season will be the Furby.  Remember that wonderful toy from 1998.  That was the year my mom bought two of them on the black market for astronomical prices since there were no more to be found in the stores.  I remember her telling me with great pride about finding these toys for my girls.  What she did not know is that I had no idea what a furby was.  I asked Mags and Liz what a Furby was, telling them that some co-worker had been talking about these toys.  Neither of them new. You see we had no TV reception; so neither the girls nor Bob nor I had ever seen the advertisements promoting the toy.  So Mom we cheated.  I told the Girls to go find out what these things were and then to be very excited about getting one for Xmas.  They did their job wonderfully.  Their grandma (my mom) never knew we had spilled the beans beforehand.

It turns out these were interesting toys.  The new and improved version (2012) offers an online dictionary explaining what the Furby language is so you can understand what they want. This probably will be very helpful to anyone considering the purchase of these fine pets.  My girls did not understand what they  were saying, only that the “pets” would wake up at random times; day or night; and whine.  As it turns out they were not very good furby parents; leaving the toys in the bottom drawer of their dressers covered with towels so they could not hear the midnight whines.  The toys were memorable, my girls still react with passion when asked about their Furby’s.  They have not forgotten them.  So I wish the best to anyone who purchases one.  Mag, Liz, or Kat — any of you want one from Santa Claus this year?

Today is Alban Elfed, otherwise known as the Autumn equinox.  It’s also a celebration of the harvest season where it’s time to give thanks for the rich bounty of our gardens and reflect on the past year. Today I celebrate this event with lots of other people.  Am going to be working at the Alta Vista Gardens,  monitoring the labyrinth entrance from 2:30 to 4:00 pm.  At other times, I’ll help out where needed and / or enjoy some of the events at a nature celebration in the Gardens.  There are going to be several musical groups, a yoga lesson, a talk about herbs (I think), a drum circle, a labyrinth walk, and other stuff going on.  It will be lots of fun.  And I know some great people who also will be working at this event.  I like these people; they are warm, caring, and accepting.  No need to pass an ideological test; just accepting people as they are.  After that, Bob is cooking a feast.  His parents will come over for dinner.  And we’ll do other stuff to celebrate the equinox; probably finishing with S’Mores over a fire.  Not a traditional celebration of Alban Elfed, but a ceremony of thanks, family, friendship, and an acknowledgement of the changing seasons.

Elle is now at dog training.  Kat went in my place so she get trained on how to work with the Dog.  This lesson was a great surprise to her since she and her friend were woken up by the dog at 10:15 am.  Olivia, a friend of Kat’s whose like another daughter to me, was spending the night.  They left at 10 to 11 having gotten up, gotten dressed, and even fed french toast and coffee.  Bob is an excellent cook; his french toast disappeared from their plates.  Elle needs the training — she got into lots of trouble this morning.  I’m avoiding cleaning up all the shredded paper in my art studio by writing this blog.  She also got a couple of pens and started again at tearing apart the carpeting.  I’m a little scared to go assess what she did.  Probably not that much; the anticipation is usually worse than the reality.

Finally the Hobbit second breakfast yesterday at work was a big success.  Had a dozen other people show up during their work day to enjoy free food, friendship, and some good conversation.  I had a good time.  Bob’s cookies were very well received; everyone will gladly eat any more he wants to cook.  And I found out that fresh and easy makes a great apple nut bread.  There is some leftover sitting in the freezer at work for my breakfast next week.  Oh well, got to go clean up paper shreds and go to my celebration.  May all of you also have a good equinox celebration of your own.

Author: Heres to ART not Cockroaches

Welcome to my life. My life as a mom is changing as the kids grow up, leave home, and build their own lives. This gives me a chance to rebuild myself as an artist, develop a spiritual path, and most fun of all, start going out on dates with my husband. Come here the stories about the small things in life that can make one very happy. Dogs running on a beach, great breakfast dates, kids and their adventures, and my own adventures in this wacky life. I'll share some of my progress in learning art while juggling a full time job as an engineer. And best of all, it's a chance for me to practice writing stories while keeping in touch with my kids. I look forward to hearing from you. Comments, thoughts, and invitations to meet for coffee are all welcomed. Enjoy the stories.

1 thought on “Furby’s, Alban Elfed, Bad Dogs, and Hobbit Breakfasts”

  1. You’re such a good writer! It’s so easy to read and you make everything sound interesting! So glad we got to spend some time socializing at the Equinox Celebration. See you soon.

Leave a Reply

