New Dog Training Techniques on a 3.5 foot heat day

I just learned the secret for getting Elle into the house — the FRANKENSTEIN Walk.  Evidently if you put your hands up in the air, spread your legs, and walk like a zombie, the dog gets scared and runs into the house.  Yeah Right, I’m going to have to see this for myself.

So this morning, the dog had unlimited access to the world.  Bob got up and let her out of the crate and gave her access to the backyard.  Unbeknownst to him, the back gate was open and the garage door had been left open about 1.5 feet.  She had unfettered access to the world and took advantage of it.  There was a lovely dead rat on her bed in the kitchen when I got up this morning.

Another hot day in Vista.  Yesterday was a record breaking 108 degrees.  We went from hot and humid to really hot and no humidity.  Prefer the really hot because at least it gets cooler at night although not much.  I”m at the point where 70 degrees at night seems wonderful.

So now we are measuring the weather based on cat stretch length.  Based on a standard size cat; deemed to be Sally; yesterday was 3.5 feet long.  Today is supposed to be longer.  Ouch.  Guess I’ll be doing as little as possible.

Have to do the VIFT spreadsheets.  Yuck.  Am cursing at the mishmash of software programs and operating systems I have to work with.  Mac Excel on the Mac.  Office Docs on the IPAD.  MS Excel on a PC.  And Google Docs for the final stuff.  Am going crazy since I can’t copy from one version to another. So was almost in tears this morning because it looks like I have to retype several hours worth of data into the Google Docs.  ARGGGHHHHHHHHHHH!!!!!!!

 

Author: Heres to ART not Cockroaches

Welcome to my life. My life as a mom is changing as the kids grow up, leave home, and build their own lives. This gives me a chance to rebuild myself as an artist, develop a spiritual path, and most fun of all, start going out on dates with my husband. Come here the stories about the small things in life that can make one very happy. Dogs running on a beach, great breakfast dates, kids and their adventures, and my own adventures in this wacky life. I'll share some of my progress in learning art while juggling a full time job as an engineer. And best of all, it's a chance for me to practice writing stories while keeping in touch with my kids. I look forward to hearing from you. Comments, thoughts, and invitations to meet for coffee are all welcomed. Enjoy the stories.

Leave a Reply

