Daily Life — a wonderful, low key sunday

Today was Grandparents Day — a hallmark holiday designed to encourage spending. But we celebrated it along with “Kat is a single child going back to school” by going out for dinner at Soup Plantation.  Paying the bill was our gift to the grandparents; but Kat totatly missed her opportunity to take credit for us paying the bill.  She blew it big time, so Bob and I got credit for acknowleding what Kat should have known.  And of course there were the silly stupid, but fun presents including a nail brush shaped like an elephant and suitable for all ages older than 3.  Nothing but the finest from Dollar Tree for our Kat.

Other than that, lots of small things made the day great.  These are the things that would add the 10 seconds of background if someone were writing soap opera about our lives.  I’ll present them in no special order, only that it was the order that I remembered them.

On the way to Soup Plantation, there was great thunder and even a little bit of lightening.  During dinner it started raining.  Afterwards, there was that great wet asphalt smell.  When we came home, Emily the cat, was stuck on the neigbor’s roof.  According to Bob, she likes to be rescued and thus often calls out for help.  Bob did get the ladder out and retrieved her, but I gather she can get down if she wants.  She was a wet cat, so it’s probably not a fun exit from the roof.  Its still raining, a genttle 82 degree rain.

Got some of my VIFT work done today.  Was trying to get everything done in a perfecct manner, but that was not to be.  After the 5th or 6th version of the spreadsheeets (and some cursing at the Mac version of Office) finally got a format that should be easy to update and easy to maintain.  Important when your asking people to do volunteer work for you. And I need lots of volunteer work (1500 hours) to make VIFT work.  Everything was sent out and within 10 minutes, had a response tthat I had made some errors.  Of course that would happen to a perfectionist.

Listened to another great CD from my impuslive after check writing shopping bing.  Went to Goodwill and bought over 20 used CD’s.  Don’t know what most of them are, but that’s the fun.   A few I know I will like, the others are an adventure.  This was something the girl at the goodwill checkout had trouble understanding; evidently most customers only buy an album if they already know they like it.  But for me, the adventure of discovering someing great is the fun.  Some of the titles incluudes:

  • Gerhard Daum “Mental Voyager; Eine musikalische Reise”
  • Caedmon’s Call “Overdressed”
  • Joshua Kadison “Painted Desert Serenade”
  • Kathy Mattea “Time Passes By”
  • UC San Diego “60th Anniversary Concert”

Met Suzie for coffee and took Elle.  Both the dog and I had a great time; its been a while since I’ve seen my best friend.  Elle after going out for coffee, had a second great adventure — going to the beach with Bob.

There was a dog surfing contest in Del Mar.  The dogs generally ride on foam boards (almost all of which have chew marks) in the white water of the waves.  The contest is called “Surf and Slobber” .  Elle felt the call of this event and boldly leaped into the water.  She had a great time and next year may actually participate in the surrfing contest.  As you might guess, she slept the remainder of the afternoon.

Did some of my art homework; but not enough.  Was slammed with homework this wweekend. The big drawing is a picture of my black birkenstock sandal with a white rope.  Need to make an intersting composition that thats 2/3’s of a large piece of paper, is accurate in the line renditions, and shows all the light shadings.  And I’ve got to use pencil or graphite for it all.  So I followed the advice of one of my fellow students and cheated. That is I set the scene, used a very bright directed light, took a photo and converted the colors into Gray Scales.  It much easier to get proportions and shading correct when they are on a flat piece of paper than from 3D.  Right now the just getting the lines drawing correctly is a challenge.  And the shading is something new.

Last night Sophie the cat was in a foul temper.  She wanted to go outside and play in the dark.  We said no.  Emily did escape once, so all the cats got two rounds of dinner.  A third round of dinner was too much to contemplate; they probably were too full to bribed back inside.  Anyway, she was doing her usual nighttime patroling of me in bed and I got upset with her midnight nuzzles.  These are pillow hogging head butts that end up with her sleeping on my pillow in my face.  Not acceptable, so I kicked her off the bed.  In response, Sophie went into the living room; found Sally the cat, and started quite a fight.  Sophie chased Sally out of the living room and then came back into our bedroom to patrol the bed some more.

Kat had a friend, Wendy, spend the night after a dance.  Evidently they had a good time and were doing some dancing.  But Kat turns red and will not answer any questions about the dance.  I’ll leave it to her sisters to get the details.

There were even more cute small stories from today; but I want to go watch the end of the King’s speech.  It’s one of my favorite movies. I love all the subtle humor and interaction between people.

Author: Heres to ART not Cockroaches

Welcome to my life. My life as a mom is changing as the kids grow up, leave home, and build their own lives. This gives me a chance to rebuild myself as an artist, develop a spiritual path, and most fun of all, start going out on dates with my husband. Come here the stories about the small things in life that can make one very happy. Dogs running on a beach, great breakfast dates, kids and their adventures, and my own adventures in this wacky life. I'll share some of my progress in learning art while juggling a full time job as an engineer. And best of all, it's a chance for me to practice writing stories while keeping in touch with my kids. I look forward to hearing from you. Comments, thoughts, and invitations to meet for coffee are all welcomed. Enjoy the stories.

Leave a Reply

