Northern Lights

So Maggie got to see the northern lights yesterday.  I’m jealous, I’ve wanted to see them again for years.  Actually I did get to see them once as a fluke durng my honeymoon. Bob and I had been camping in Banff national park up in Canada for a few days.  It had been raining most of that time while we lived in a small tent with no showers.  After a few days, we decided to leave and go to Yellowstone National Park.  Onroute we stopped at a park / campground for lunch and snuck into the showers.  They were supposed to be for campers only, but the idea of being clean was too much to resist.  Afterwads, got in the car and drove another150 miles to the border only to realize I had left my wallet with ID in the bathroom.  ARGGHHHHHH although there were more choice words used at the time.  Stopped,  had dinner at a diner and then turned around and went back to this campground.  If we had not gone back, we never would have looked north and thus never have seen the northern lights.  WOW, I can still vividly remember the lights and colors.  Ever since then I’ve wanted to see them again.  I hope she got to see as great a show.  Eventually like all stories, this one has to end.  We got to the campground, retrieved the wallet and spent the night.  The next morning we left our tent poles there, but that’s a different story for another time.

Author: Heres to ART not Cockroaches

Welcome to my life. My life as a mom is changing as the kids grow up, leave home, and build their own lives. This gives me a chance to rebuild myself as an artist, develop a spiritual path, and most fun of all, start going out on dates with my husband. Come here the stories about the small things in life that can make one very happy. Dogs running on a beach, great breakfast dates, kids and their adventures, and my own adventures in this wacky life. I'll share some of my progress in learning art while juggling a full time job as an engineer. And best of all, it's a chance for me to practice writing stories while keeping in touch with my kids. I look forward to hearing from you. Comments, thoughts, and invitations to meet for coffee are all welcomed. Enjoy the stories.

Leave a comment